Elizabeth M. Dalton Assistive Technology Award

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

-Margaret Meade


The Elizabeth M. Dalton Award was established in 2010. It is the Rhode Island Assistive Technology Access Partnership’s (ATAP) award recognizing outstanding commitment by an individual to improve access to and acquisition of assistive technology for individuals with disabilities.

Nominees for this award are distinguished by their innovative actions that have impacted the lives of individuals with disabilities in the area of assistive technology and/or universal design for life and learning.

The award nominee can be a(n):

  • Professional providing services;
  • Advocate working on behalf of individuals with disabilities;
  • Individual providing peer support;
  • Or a user of AT.

The award recipient should be a champion of AT.

The 2018 ATAP Elizabeth M. Dalton Assistive Technology Award Winner is:

Nicole Feeney


Award Recipients:

2010: Dr. Elizabeth Dalton

2011: Kate McCarthy-Barnett, Ed.D.

2012: Judith Hammerlind-Carlson

2014: Cheryl Simmons

2015: Madalaine Pugliese

2016: James Lanni

2017: Michael Grupp